Archive | 11:28 pm

Lunch at Palm Beach’s legendary Ta-boo

31 Dec

The interior at Ta-boo has an Old Florida, monkey jungle kind of look. They are located in the heart of Worth Avenue, which is Palm Beach’s version of Rodeo Drive. Neiman Marcus, Cartier, Tiffany … they are all here. So you would expect the clientele at Ta-boo to be more than a little bit snobby. But that isn’t necessarily the case. Lots of tourists flock here to tap into the magical vibe created by folks like JFK, Frank Sinatra, and the Duke and Duchess of Windsor. They have all dined here. Further, the prices are not out of this world high — a pleasant surprise!

The Black Currant iced tea (above) is a good beverage choice to get your meal started. They will also bring you some good bread and butter. The menu is pretty extensive with lots of salads and fresh seafood choices. The Atlantic Ocean is just a few blocks to the east of Ta-boo’s front door.

I opted for the Pistachio Encrusted Salmon (seen above). My family was encouraging me to order a dish called the Crab Stack, but I locked in on the salmon dish. Guess I will have to try the Crab Stack (a mountain of freshly picked lump crab meat with accompanying sauces) when I visit again next year. I was very pleased with the choice I made. The salmon was cooked perfectly and the nutty pistachio crust was right down my alley.

Eileen really loved this shrimp and pasta entree (above). She remarked that it was not as heavy as many similar dishes she has ordered in other restaurants. The shrimp were plump and fresh and the sauce was olive oil & parmesan based rather than the typical goopy, white alfredo mixture.

A look at the interior dining area at Ta-b00.

The swanky bar at Ta-boo.

The entire meal for 2 with the icea teas ran about $40 dollars. That we could easily afford. The $600 woman’s sandals we spotted later at Neiman Marcus? Well, that’s a completely different story.

www.taboorestaurant.com

Little Moir’s Food Shack – Jupiter, Florida

31 Dec

Little Moir’s Food Shack is found in an unassuming strip mall in Jupiter, FL (just north of West Palm Beach). You wouldn’t think it would be the place everyone (including the NY Times) is raving about, but their reputation has been solidly built by serving fresh, quirky island fare at reasonable prices. It’s a fairly small dining room, so arrive early or expect to wait a few minutes. Don’t let that scare you away. They now have a comfortable indoor waiting area and there are a few interesting shops nearby (including a very cool, if pricey, surf shop).

The Fried Oyster appetizer at Food Shack (above) — my Dad swears by it. He has never ordered anything else and he has dined here about 20 times! It looked great and, well, I kind of wish I had ordered that. Same old story … shouldn’t taken Dad’s advice. When will I learn? Not that my dish was altogether bad. But the oysters looked really crisp and tasty. We had visited Apalachicola (Florida’s Oyster Capital) just a few days earlier and I had devoured my fill of oysters for a while.

Our son Austin ordered some Island Chicken Wings adorned with grated coconut. I snatched one and they were quite good (hot but not too hot). The Food Shack has a casual, beachy atmosphere and music by the likes of Bob Marley, Jimmy Buffett, and Jack Johnson can frequently be heard in the background. I’m told they make a killer macaroni and cheese here, although I might find it hard to order that when presented with all the other fresh seafood options.

I ordered Beer Battered Shrimp with a Jerk Seasoned Steak & Spicy Fruit Salad. The shrimp were good, but could have benefited from a dipping sauce, which was mysteriously not provided with this entree. I enjoyed the bed of coconut rice and the spicy fruit salad is always good (but not for the faint of heart — it delivers a potent jerk). I’m guessing that jalapenos or scotch bonnets figure into the mix somehow. The steak, I must admit, was a bit of a disaster. It was a fatty, stringy little piece of beef and it was overcooked to the texture of a rubber flip-flop. The Caribbean jerk seasoning couldn’t revive it and I spent the next 10 minutes or so sawing away at the steak and shaking our dining table rather violently. Lesson learned — don’t order steak here again. Ever.

I trust this review will not cause you to avoid the Food Shack. It is a great little joint and this was the first somewhat negative experience I have had here (this was our 4th visit). Stick to the seafood offerings and you should have yourself a terrific meal. They have recently opened up a second restaurant called Leftovers. I hope that is not where all the untouched steaks end up.

www.littlemoirsfoodshack.com

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 651 other followers